-A +A

Mark W. Gesell, MD, FACS

4.857145
Verified Patient Rating: 4.86 (49 patient reviews and ratings)

The following are reviews from patients of Dr. Gesell.

“I was very impressed with Dr. Gesell's professional approach to my knee problems. He was very reassuring about my choices and reminded me to keep all options open. I will be coming back soon for followup knee injections.”
– Christine G.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Gesell was very thorough. He answered all of my questions without rushing me.”
– Diann M.
Patient Rating:
5
“Excellent caring physician.”
– Patricia W.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Gesell has been both patient and thorough in working through my knee issues. His expertise and knowledge and willingness to wait for things through rather than immediately jump to surgery are appreciated.”
– Marjorie A.
Patient Rating:
5
“The doctor thoroughly explained my problem to me and offered several solutions.”
– Kathryn W.
Patient Rating:
5
“There are not enough words to describe how wonderful my doctor is. He replaced my knees, fixed my elbows and wrists, all with a smile on his face. How can you thank a person like Dr. Gesell?”
– Sushma S.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Gesell is great. Very helpful!”
– Mary I.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Gesell is a very caring doctor. Pleasant, polite and answers all of your questions.”
– Georgiana D.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Gesell. I am fortunate to have a great doctor like you take care of me with my full knee replacement. I was back to work and driving in three weeks! Best of all, the horrible pain I had before the operation is gone.”
– Eileen D.
Patient Rating:
5
“Dr. Mark Gesell has helped me on several occasions. A fine, experienced physician and gentleman, he is also careful, patient and kind. He is cautious and does not advise unnecessary treatments. I have known him for years, because he was my student in high school. He comes from a fine family. Then, as now, I am pleased to recommend him without reservation and wish him all the best with his career.”
– Winifred S.
Patient Rating:
5
“I am very pleased to be writing you a second letter regarding another amazing experience at Monmouth Medical Center. Previously, in April 2016, Dr. Mark Gesell replaced my arthritic hip using robotic surgery and most recently replaced my arthritic knee similarly. Again, I had a stellar experience beginning with Pre-Admission testing (Beth, Suzanne, Doreen, Herb) leading me to the day of surgery. My first memories of post-op were spent with a caring and thoughtful Recovery Room Nurse, Joyce. She stayed with me beyond her shift and I was so grateful. Finally, my journey to the 6th floor Orthopedic Wing – what a team with an apparent committed effort focusing on me, the patient. I so appreciated the care from Nicole Wilps’ 6th floor team – Ben and Angela, my evening and daytime Nurses and Robin, the Physical Therapist. As I reflect, it appeared all was possible because of the constant articulation between the Medical Center team and Dr. Gesell’s Administrative Assistant, Amanda Aversa. She was the perfect patient advocate! I always knew I had chosen a most highly regarded surgeon, Dr. Mark Gesell, and now I also know I was privileged to spend my first healing days with my new knee at Monmouth Medical Center.”
– Mary Lee B.
Patient Rating:
5
“I would like to thank you for your special expertise, great kindness and alacrity that you gave to my “two knees” and their replacements!! My entire experience with this seeming debacle was one of trust and appreciative understanding of your prowess and empathy to my situation and I am very grateful. Also, your entire staff, especially Amanda, who was so willing and thoughtful to help in any way, was wonderful.”
– Judy W.
Patient Rating:
5
"This office is run the most efficient I have seen. The staff is nice, professional and courteous. I work in an office so I know how hard it is to manage and maintain this. Dr. Gesell is on the top of my list as far as doctors go. He is nice,professional and listens. He did my hip two years ago and I had no problems after surgery at all. He will be doing my knee when I decide to have it done." – Robin F.  
Patient Rating:
5
"I find Dr. Gesell to be very caring, professional, and listens to and answers all of my questions. He doesn't rush me out of the office. I am a very happy patient. Highly recommend him." – Ellen B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell tells you like it is and what to do for it. He was right with me." – Michael D. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I had a knee replacement with Dr. Gesell. I felt very safe in his hands. He explained everything and was compassionate with me during my surgery and recovery. I will be having another knee replacement in October. I would highly recommend Dr. Gesell to anyone. During my hospital stay and with the visits from Home Health Care and physical therapy, they all remarked about how well I was doing and how the surgery went for me. My recovery seemed to be above the normal." – Sheila T. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dear Dr. Gesell, I have been very pleased to work with Dr. Sheela Iyer during my physical therapy sessions in May and June. She is very knowledgeable and an amazing advocate. Further, she tailored my sessions to optimize my progress. I realize all the above represent her job responsibilities yet I felt she went above and beyond each session. I am so grateful I chose Professional Orthopaedics Physical Therapy during my recovery. Also, thank you very much for my successful hip replacement surgery as well as the at-home after-care associated with the VNA. My hip is pain-free and I am thrilled." - Mary Lee B.
Patient Rating:
5
"I think Dr. Gesell is very professional, knowledgeable, and a caring physician. He takes time to explain options available and does not make you feel like he is in a hurry to move on to his next patient. The staff is very pleasant and efficient. My overall experience has been very good, and I would definitely recommend this practice to anyone looking for an orthopaedic group." - Barbara E.
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell has been remarkably sensible and knowledgeable and helpful with my shoulder arthritis." – Wilma P. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Got right to the point (in 'my language'), while understanding 'my' big picture. Was a good learning experienced for me. Thank you, Professional Ortho', and especially Dr. Gesell (also the DJO specialist). Good job-Bill." – Bill B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Just finished walking the Kapalua trail in Maui, HI for the third time this week thanks to Dr. Gesell and my new hips." – Gail C. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell is an excellent and kind surgeon. He takes the time to sit and talk to his patients, and that's so important. The staff is very helpful also. I am very happy that I chose professional orthopedics for my knee replacement surgery." – Christine N.
Patient Rating:
5
"Operation on a Friday, home on Sunday. P/T in NJ and here in Miami. Knee has never been better. People say,"where's the scar", it's that good. Lost weight!!! P/T is trying to get me to run a marathon, funny I never could do that before." – Roy B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Everything Dr. Gessell spoke to me about the surgery happened as well as the recovery. I had an accident midway through recovery and checked everything again and he took care of everything thanks for taking care of me" – George M. 
Patient Rating:
5
"As always, Dr. Gesell was friendly and professional. He spoke to me about my options but didn't push anything. He gave me time to weigh my options and come back when I make my decision. I appreciate his honesty and his friendly manner." – Carol W. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I was in a lot of pain from necrosis of the hip. I had hip replacement surgery by Dr. Gesell. I can only say that my experience and recovery have been wonderful, and I feel "as good as new." I lead a very active life and get lots of exercise, which is so important. I am very grateful that the whole problem has been so beautifully taken care of. Thank you so much." – Helen B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Had hip replacement, had zero pain from in the hospital to when I was pain-free 10 days later. Hospital staff was great and could not do enough for me. This is not what I expected but it sure felt good during the entire process. After years of pain and other doctors treating my back, I can now walk again, pain-free. I am back to the gym 5 days a week, 2 hours a day and can once again ride my motorcycle. By the way, I am 70 years old and feel great thanks to Dr. Gesell." – Jack K. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I found your office to be the most organized and well managed medical facility I have ever experienced" – Theodore L. 
Patient Rating:
4
"Not a bad one in the bunch! I saw Dr. Gesell for knee pain. He gave me a needle which I didn't even feel a pinch. I call this my six-month lub job. Dr. Gabisan removed a bone spur above my big toe this fall. I felt like I was at a spa. I was given heated blankets and a TV in my room. The staff was excellent as was my doctor. I was back to walking my dogs in a couple of days. I didn't need pain meds but took a couple of advil. I would recommend this procedure in a heartbeat." – Marianne C. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell is a very personable and professional in his field. I would highly recommend him." – Jane B.  
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell and his entire staff made my surgery experience go more smoothly that I could have possibly imagined. From the very first time I contacted Professional Orthopaedic Associates, I was treated with courtesy and respect in a friendly and professional manner. I underwent a total hip replacement on January 8, 2016, and was home on January 10, 2016. The hospital staff were wonderful to me and made the whole experience extremely positive. I feel so good, physically and emotionally, with my new hip. It's just incredible to be pain free and healing so quickly. Thanks to everyone at Professional Orthopaedic Associates for a wonderful experience!" – Lauren S. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell did a knee replacement on me and the experience was surprising. As with any surgery of this magnitude you expect a lot of pain. I had next to none which was very unusual according to a number of friends who had the same procedure. As a lot of people do, I put off the operation for fear of what I would have to go through. If you have to go through it this is the way to go. P.S.  I think the great x-rays taken at the office helped too!" – Tom S. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Dr. Gesell replaced my left knee and I couldn't be more pleased. He is thorough, kind & very competent. I was only in the hospital for one night & had no pain whatsoever. I would recommend him to my family and friends. I'm a little over 8 weeks out and doing great. I've been back to pilates since week 3 and also doing therapy 3x a week. All in all, it's been a very positive experience." -- Ann W. 
Patient Rating:
5
"I am very pleased with every aspect of my care from scheduling to surgery and post surgery care. Dr. Gesell has been wonderful to work with and takes great interest in my care. I wouldn't hesitate to use or recommend your  professional group of physicians." -- Joan T. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Total Knee Replacement...Great doctor. After 7 months, my new knee is awesome. I have recommended Dr. Gesell to several of my friends." -- Donald E. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Very professional. Dr. Gesell makes you feel very comfortable. Staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful." -- Jane B. 
Patient Rating:
5
"My experience was as close to being a pleasure but not for the condition. My physician was outstanding, I never saw the operating room, woke up pain-free and remained so during my entire time of rehabilitation. The hospital staff treated me exceptionally well, and my two nurses kissed me good bye after my hospital stay.  My hip replacement was a success, and in retrospect if I knew what I know now, I would have had it done five years ago.  I cannot thank my doctor and the hospital staff enough for doing such a great, patient focused, customer caring effort." -- Jack K. 
Patient Rating:
5
"Wonderful staff and doctor. Very satisfied with my surgery. Would definitely recommend." – Lucy D.
Patient Rating:
5
"One of the best experiences I have ever had with a doctor. Dr. Gesell was informative and concise with his diagnosis and treatment. I suffered for some time with a knee pain and after reviewing the X-rays, Dr. Gesell left me feeling no concern and fully informed on what my current prognosis is and also what I can expect in the future. He gave me options for treatment and I decided to go with the cortisone shot. It's been 3 weeks and my knee continues to feel good and improve in mobility. Another thing that impressed me is that Dr. Gesell gave me individual attention I was not left feeling like the next person in line, it felt more like he was there for me personally. I really appreciate the attention to detail and personal touch Dr. Gesell was able to offer." -- Rebecca C. 
Patient Rating:
5
"When your child breaks a bone, it is a terrifying experience. Unfortunately, my son, Matthew, age 12, broke both bones in his right forearm and experienced a great deal of pain. After being treated at the hospital emergency room, Matthew needed follow-up care from a caring and experienced orthopedist. I asked many friends and family members and they recommended Professional Orthopedists and gave them great reviews. My son and I met with Dr. Johnson and his staff and he was treated with such care, it immediately put us at ease. The technician and nurse who x-rayed Matthew were knowledgeable and gentle, and helped him deal with the pain that he was in. Dr. Johnson then met with us and reassured us that Matthew would have a full recovery. He explained the x-rays in terms that we could understand and showed us how the bones could heal without having to go through surgery. Dr. Johnson used a hard cast to ensure that the bones were set in a corrective position- something that we couldn't imagine when we first saw the x-rays. His sense of humor and great bedside manner kept my 12-year-old son in good spirits, while he kept a nervous mom informed and at ease. At the one week follow-up visit, we met with Dr. Gesell, Dr Johnson's partner. He was also equally caring and professional. Dr. Gesell showed us the follow-up x-rays and showed us how the bones were repairing themselves and were back in a healthy and stable position to fuse back together. Words cannot describe how grateful we are to be in the care of such skilled and professional doctors. Matthew is expected to have a full recovery, which is just amazing after all that he went through. To see him smile and laugh means the world to us. We know that the care he received at Professional Orthopedists made all the difference to him and our family." - Audrey O.
Patient Rating:
"I was having pain and experiencing increasing difficulty walking. After a consultation with Dr. Gesell, I was found to have severe arthritis in both hips. I had my right hip replaced on March 12, 2013 and my left hip on April 30. Both surgeries went very well, and I was back to work by June 3. Dr. Gesell is an excellent surgeon, and I would recommend this practice to anyone." - Debbie C.
Patient Rating:
"I came to Professional Orthopaedic Associates office due to a serious knee issue. After my visits with Dr. Chris Johnson, I was referred to Dr. Mark Gesell for further treatment.  I was unable to walk without a cane and eventually crutches. Dr. Gesell was extremely communicative and understanding with me. We tried the Suparts knee shots first, which I wanted, and after that needed to proceed to knee surgery. I had a partial knee replacement in March 2014 and was standing and walking that same day!  I was in no pain and left the hospital the next afternoon. My experience at the hospital and with Dr. Gesell was 100% positive. Today, in October, I am a new person. I can now exercise, garden all day long, walk without any cane, help or pain, this after over a year on crutches. I will always be grateful to Dr. Gesell for helping me to return to a normal happy life." -- Marion P.
Patient Rating:
"I had a total hip replacement on September 5, 2014 at Monmouth Medical Center. It has now been nine weeks since my surgery, and my hip feels GREAT! I was diagnosed about four years ago, needing the replacement, and for reasons, waited till recently and now wish I had not. Every aspect of this experience has gone just as he explained to my wife and me. It has been an extremely easy and fast recovery. Soon I'll be 49 years old, and unfortunately, as you know suffer from a multiple of serious back, nerve, and spinal problems. I have for 20 years now and had back surgery in 1995. I am mention this because along with these back problems comes my fair share of doctors and office staff over the years. I have never been treated so GREAT by any other medical practice in all my years of experience. You not only made me feel safe, secure, and confident in your abilities, sparring no time with me, dealing with our questions and or concerns. Dr. Gesell made sure my wife was kept informed, and was at ease while he operated on me seeing to her as soon as he was done. Dr. Gesell started my operation about noon. I was awake and in my room speaking with him by 5:00, and walking the floor with the therapist by 5:30. I walked the entire 6TH floor, not just the 20 or 30 steps were expected of me. I was in amazement. I had NO HIP PAIN, NO GROIN PAIN, and NO POPPING AND CLICKING SOUNDS. Everything that was paining me from the hip was gone. HEY, look at me! I'm walking like a normal person. I had physical therapy once the next morning, and was home relaxing in my recliner by noon, just REMARKABLE! I would like to take this opportunity to say to Dr. Gesell, thank you so very much! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! My hip is FIXED, and I know I'm on the road to a full recovery with it. As for the staff and Professional Orthopaedic Associates, to all, we say THANK YOU, and you are all just as the name reads "PROFESSIONAL." I'd like to acknowledge Courtney, the billing manager. You made this surgery possible, helping me to overcome my insurance issues, sparring no time with me to listen to my concerns. It was just amazing. You went above and beyond and we are very grateful. Also to Amanda, the surgical coordinator, thank you for all your help and follow-up. So often you'll hear about doctors and their staff not being up to par. Such things as the doctor has no bed side manners, no compassion, treats you like just another claim form into insurance, always late, takes forever to get an appointment, and the staff is rude or just plain BLAH. Based on my experiences with you, Dr. Gesell and Professional Orthopaedic Associates, these stereotypes just don't exist here. Again, you all are just as the practices name says, and always showing great concern. Just at my last office visit, while waiting in the main area, along with others waiting to be seen, a very pleasant staff member came out just to say good morning to everyone waiting, and then asked if anyone would care for a cold or hot beverage while waiting or the use of restroom. It was just remarkable customer service. My wife has worked in the medical industry for about thirty years for surgeons, and is in amazement in the operation of your practice. We are so very happy with Dr. Gesell and Professional Orthopaedic Associates." -- Gregory R.
Patient Rating:
I'm pleasantly surprised and I say pleasantly because I did not expect the level of satisfaction I got from this office. I'm now retired from the corporate world and I find myself complaining how offices are terribly run and how, nowadays, people just don't care-most of them want to do the minimum required and could care less if client satisfaction is being provided.  A couple of years ago, I needed a shoulder specialist and by pure luck I decided to have Dr. David Gentile look at my shoulder.  Dr. Gentile took his time to explain in details what he was going to do to solve my problem.  He operated on my right shoulder and as he predicted, my shoulder was fixed.  A year later, while teaching soccer in the community, a kid ran into me and because my bad knee did not provide me the right balance, I feel and my other shoulder now needed to be repaired.  Dr. Gentile performed the operation and again he fixed it.  I decided to have a full knee replacement and to my regret, I did not call Dr. Gentile; I let my therapist convince me to see another surgeon- a mistake I regret and I'll never forget.  I found this new office to be rude; not to care about their patients and worse yet, I found the doctor to take the "I could care less attitude."  My knee replacement was a complete failure.  The insurance company gave me the permission to see a different doctor for a second opinion and at the same time they told me a revision was being negated.  I was not going to make the same mistake and this time I called Dr. Gentile for his recommendation - he recommended Dr. Mark Gesell.  On June 24, my revision took place.  While waiting for June 24, a family member got hurt.  I asked, once again, Dr. Gentile for his advice.  He recommended Dr. Glenn Gabisan and with no hesitation we went to him.  She got her procedure done and we are both in the recovery stage.  Dr. Gentile is now a key person for me - any problems I go to him and thanks to Dr. Mark Gesell, for the first time, I feel confident my knee will be fine.   Doctors, thank you very much; thanks to all of you I feel I'll be able to enjoy a normal life. Yours truly, Juan C.
Patient Rating:
“Been remiss is getting to you. I wanted to thank all in the office of Professional Orthopaedic Associates for your kindness, professionalism, and demeanors. Everyone was pleasant and efficient from the front office to billing to nursing staff. Additionally, big thanks to Dr. Gesell who lived to his word. I asked if I could be dancing at my son’s wedding six weeks from my surgery on March 21 and he delivered! Again, thank you all and I would recommend your practice to anyone.” – Ken D.
Patient Rating:
Dr. Gesell, I have been a patient of Dr. Gesell's for approximately two years. He has performed two procedures for me on my left knee. He is an amazing surgeon and person. After the procedure, I have complete use of my knee and I am virtually pain free. Most importantly, Dr. Gesell always treated me with absolute professionalism - courtesy and respect. He listened to my concerns on both the pain and use of medications during and after the procedure. He devised a plan with me to address the process of leaving behind the use of pain medications in a medically safe way after healing. I would highly recommend or refer anyone to seek out his care for there specific orthopedic needs. ~ Michael T., Belford, NJ.
Patient Rating:
Dr. Gesell, From the time I called and made an appointment up until the time of surgery, I had felt support from Dr. Gesell and his staff, i.e.; Amanda Aversa, Lisa Vito, and Colleen Rackett. No question was too silly and they always made time to answer my questions. Dr. Gesell put me at ease at the first visit and my MRI revealed that I had a torn rotator cuff (in my shoulder). Dr. Gesell had me go to physical therapy first, but, the pain never subsided. It was my choice to have the surgery when I did. The entire experience went much better than I expected and having the surgery at the Surgical Center proved to be an excellent choice. The nurses were gracious and the anesthesiologist was impeccable. The entire procedure went smoothly. I had a nerve block put in before the surgery, which helped me to cope for the three days following the surgery. Recovery is a long process. There are good and bad pain days. I am having passive physical therapy now and see Dr. Gesell this Friday. Dr Gesell always stressed that recovery will take time...and patience is key. I would gladly recommend Dr "G" as a surgeon. He has definitely won me over with his skill as a surgeon and his ability to communicate to his patient and their family. ~ Ilona K. Atlantic Highlands, NJ.
Patient Rating:
"The care and compassion I received from all of those I dealt with at Professional Orthopaedic Associates was a treat. Dr. Gesell replaced a knee for me and relieved the carpal tunnel pain I dealt with after the knee replacement, double whammy. Shortly after those issues, I was in an auto accident and shattered my arm. Thanks to Dr. Johnson, that injury was fixed. These people are sincere, good at what they do, and a pleasure to be around. I have regained an active lifestyle and look forward to having the other knee replaced. (Not really.) The best care by local professionals. Why go anywhere else? Thank you to Drs. Gesell and Johnson, and all of the women that took care of me." -- Gene B.
Patient Rating:
"I had hip replacement surgery with Dr. Gesell a year and a half ago. I can't tell you how much it has meant to me. I am "as good as new," and I can do everything I was always accustomed to do, leading an active life. The surgery took about twenty years off my age! I am so grateful." -- Helen B.
Patient Rating:
"I had a very pleasant experience with Dr. Gesell. He is extremely nice, and a very compassionate doctor. Because I had such positive experiences, I referred my family members to Professional Orthopaedic Associates as well, and they had the same experience I did. I have nothing but high remarks for Dr. Gesell, Dr. Foos, and Kevin Ruscio, P.A.-C." --  Daniel H.
Patient Rating:
"As an avid outdoor sportsman and active volunteer in two organizations that promotes Conservation of our NJ Natural Resources through the use of proper forestry stewardship, hunting, fishing and trapping, it was too painful to maintain my sports and volunteerism with the constant pain in my knee, hip, and lower back. Knowing that I had bone on bone in my knee, I opted to visit Dr. Gesell after attending one of his seminars on Robotic Surgery. He recommended that I get an epidural spinal injection. I had the injection preformed this morning by a doctor at the Premier Pain Center, also a recommendation by Dr. Gesell, and now after 5 hours, I am 95% pain free. Thank you, Dr. Gesell." -- Gerard N.
Patient Rating:
"I was in pain, had difficulty walking, and the problem was getting worse. Upon consulting with Dr. Gesell, it was found that I had severe arthritis in both hips. I had both hips replaced, the right on March 12, 2013 and the left on April 30. Both surgeries went smoothly, and I remain pain-free." -- Deborah C.
Patient Rating:
"I had my right knee replaced by Dr. Mark Gesell two years ago this February. I was in complete agony prior to seeing Dr. Gesell. I had two prior meniscus surgeries in both the left and right knee. It really did very little to improve my ability to walk, stand, and deal with the constant pain. I was unable to work, and help out my family financially. I was grocery shopping in the riding cart that stores had available, being pushed in a wheel chair at the mall by my kids, and shopping for everything online. To make matters worse, my best friend was referring to me as "Grandma." Vanity can be a wonderful catalyst. My husband’s health insurance changed, so the orthopedic doctor I was seeing was no longer in my network. I needed to start looking for a new doctor. I had called Dr. Foo’s office, and only one doctor in the practice that took my insurance was Dr. Mark Gesell.Thank goodness for Dr. Gesell! He did a brilliant job replacing my knee! I have never been so happy that I trusted him to do this surgery. I loved that he had a medical military background, repairing lots of soldier’s knees. I recovered very quickly and have a scare that is so perfect; you really have to look for it when I'm in shorts. Dr. Gesell literally gave me my life back. I work full time now in customer service. I 'm on my feet all the time. I'm back to biking, and pursuing all the things that make me happy.I can recognize when I see someone walking like I used to walk. I will ask them "Knee?" Nine times out of ten I'm correct and I tell them about a great doctor who really doesn't know the impact he had on my life. Thank you, Dr. Gesell. You healed me. You also bought me 2 years and counting on my left knee. No other doctor will be doing the left knee replacement but you. God, I hope you will accept my insurance!  P.S., Monmouth Medical was amazing!" -- Catherine H.
Patient Rating:
"Dr. Gesell is one of the most caring doctors I have ever seen. He did my knee replacement a year ago from a car accident and I would do it all over again with him. My knee is perfect with no pain and I can extend and flex with no problems. I can stand for a long time, when before, I could only stand for approximately an hour. He was very caring and he looked in on me in the hospital to make sure I was doing okay and making sure I was doing my exercises! If it wasn't for Dr. Gesell, I would still be in pain, still be frustrated, and I would still be limping or on crutches! Thanks to Dr. Gesell, I can walk now, even though I need a hip replacement.This is how caring he is, my hip is so bad, he referred me to Hospital for Special Surgery, which is where he did his fellowship, to a great doctor. Thanks to Dr. Gesell, I will be walking without any aids, like a cane or a walker. Thanks to Dr. Gesell and the very caring staff at Professional Orthopaedic Associates, I can get straightened out! Thank you!" -- Lisa S.
Patient Rating:
"I started going to Dr. Gesell last fall for a rotator cuff injury. He recommended physical therapy and that did the trick. I was told 3 years ago that I had to have total knee surgery for my right knee. So when I knew that the time had come, I returned to Dr. Gesell. I had researched his credentials and saw that he did his residency at the Center for Special Surgery in NYC, where they specialize in knee replacements.  I knew that he was the surgeon for me. I had the surgery on January 10, 2014 and it went great! I was home on that Monday and had 2 weeks of in-home therapy before starting outpatient physical therapy. I am now going on 10 weeks post surgery and I'm almost 100%. I can't say enough good things about Dr. Gesell. He was always very attentive to my questions and concerns before and after surgery, easy to talk to, and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend him to anyone that is considering knee replacement surgery. He's the best!" -- Patti M.
Patient Rating: